Emerald Awards Nominations Are Open!

Who is the best of the best in your community?

Nominations are now open for the 9th annual Washington Multi-Family Housing Association's Emerald Awards! The Emerald Awards recognize outstanding achievements in the multifamily housing industry of Washington.

 Prestigious and memorable, this event is an elegant sit-down dinner, and a fully staged and produced awards program. We keep the celebration going with an Emerald worthy after-party. Over 1,100 friends and colleagues will come together on February 15, 2019 to celebrate the accomplishments of the best of the best in property management in Washington.

Please review all of the information below and adhere to all deadlines to ensure proper submission of your Emerald Award nominations.

Who can nominate?

Nomination packets need to be approved by a regional/corporate supervisor. Certain categories require a Nominator Declaration to support the nomination. Suppliers are welcome to nominate for the Community Service Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Who is eligible?

All multifamily employees are eligible.  

Submittal Forms

Nominations are due by 5:00 pm Friday, September 7, 2018. 

General Information

Award Descriptions

Nominations and award submissions are non-transferable. Participants, companies, and properties will be listed in the award program and subsequent media EXACTLY as they appear on the official Nominee Information Form. Please ensure spelling is accurate.

WMFHA reserves the right to alter or combine categories at their discretion. In addition, they may choose not to present an award in categories receiving less than a minimum of submissions.


Nominator Questions

Nominee Questions


Impartial judges and panelists will evaluate submissions. Judges will be selected from outside Washington and within the property management industry. 

Judging Process Details


Select categories will be shopped on a secret and/or scheduled basis during October and November 2018. 


Finalists in each category will be determined based on the scores of the nominator and nominee packets and/or the shops. Those finalists will proceed with additional judging and/or a panel interview during November and December 2018.

Important Dates

  • September 7 - All nominations due
  • September 28 - Nominee packets due
  • October/November - Judging (secret and scheduled shops taking place)
  • November - Finalists announced
  • December - Shops and panel interviews of finalists
  • February 15, 2019 - 9th annual Emerald Awards Gala

New for 2019!
We added a Regional Maintenance Director of the Year Award!

2019 Emerald Award Categories

*Click on the links below for award details, pricing and to submit a nomination*

Community Manager of the Year

Assistant Community Manager of the Year

Leasing Consultant of the Year

Maintenance Supervisor of the Year

Maintenance Technician of the Year

Rookie of the Year - Office

Rookie of the Year - Maintenance

Portfolio Manager of the Year

Regional Maintenance Director of the Year

Credential Holder of the Year

Community of the Year

New Development of the Year 

Renovated Community of the Year

Curb Appeal

Community Service Award

Industry Partner of the Year

Lifetime Achievement Award - Awarded by WMFHA Board of Directors

Volunteer of the Year Award - Awarded by WMFHA 

The road to the Emerald Awards stage begins now!  

View 2018 Emerald Award Recipients by category