Emerald Award Nominations

A Moment to Shine

2018 Emerald Nominations - Western Washington

The Road to the Emerald Stage Starts Here!

On February 16, 2018 the Washington Multi-Family Housing Association will host the 8th annual Emerald Awards. With over 300 Nominations received for our 2017 Emerald Awards, we are expecting another banner year, filled with the best and the brightest competing for their spot on the Emerald Stage!
While 2018 seems like it is several months away - the Nomination and Judging process for our Emerald Award candidates is thorough, equitable and time consuming. For this reason - we must ensure that all deadlines are met - including the Call for Nominations. Please review the information on this page, and have all Nominations submitted by the deadline of Friday September 8, 2017.
2017 Emerald Award Recipients

Who can nominate?

Nomination packets need to be authorized by a regional/corporate supervisor. Certain categories require a Nominator Declaration to support the nomination. Suppliers are welcome to nominate for the Community Service Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.

Who is Eligible?

All multifamily employees. A person may be nominated for more than one category. All properties nominated must be located in Washington State. All persons nominated must perform the bulk of their responsibilities in Washington State (though they may operate in other regions as well).

New This Year!

Designate of the Year; Nominate a CAM, CAMT, CAS, NALP, CAPS, or SHCM credential holder who really shines since earning their credential! 

Submittal Packets

Nominations are due by 5:00 pm Friday, September 8, 2017.


Impartial judges and panels will evaluate submissions. Judges will be selected from within and outside Washington and within and outside the property management industry.

CLICK HERE for Judging Process

CLICK HERE for Nomination and Judging FAQ's


Select categories will be shopped on a secret and/or scheduled basis during October and November, 2017.


Finalists in each category will be determined based on the scores of the Nominator and Nominee packets and/or shops and interviews. Some finalists will proceed onto a panel interview during November and December, 2017.

General Information

Participants, companies and properties will be listed in the award program and subsequent media as they appear on the official Nominee Information Form. Please ensure spelling is accurate.

WMFHA reserves the right to alter or combine categories at their discretion. In addition they may choose not to present an award in categories receiving less than a minimum of submissions.

Special Notes:

A shop can include a secret shop and/or a scheduled on-site interview

Panel interviews may be conducted on-site or at another location to be determined.

Not all nominees will qualify as a finalist

Questions?  Call Tricia at 425.656.9077


Nominations Open:  August 8

Nominations Due:  September 8

Nominee Packet Due:  September 29

Shops and Panels:  Oct through Dec

8th Annual Emerald Awards Gala: February 16, 2018

Quick Links

Award Descriptions/Pricing

2017 Emerald Recipients

Nomination/Judging FAQ's

Sponsorship FAQ's

Judging Process


All submissions are to be received by 5:00 p.m. at the WMFHA office on their specified due dates. Late submissions will not be accepted and exceptions will not be made. 

Nomination Forms

2018 Nominations are Closed

Click on the links below to access the online Nomination Forms.

  • Community Manager of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Assist. Community Manager of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Leasing Consultant of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Maintenance Supervisor of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Maintenance Technician of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Rookie of the Year - Office/Maintenance
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Portfolio Manager of the Year
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Community of the Year
    $150 | Member  $195 | Non-Member
  • New Development of the Year
    Built in 2015 or after
    $150 | Member  $195 | Non-Member
  • Renovated Community of the Year
    Completed 2015 or later
    $150 | Member  $195 | Non-Member
  • Curb Appeal
    $125 | Member  $175 | Non-Member
  • Designate of the Year (NEW CATEGORY)
    $75 | Member  $125 | Non-Member
  • Community Service-Individual and Team
    May self-nominate
  • Industry Partner of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award